Tues., June 4, 2013: Trying to Get Back into the Groove

Tuesday, June 4, 2013
Waning Moon
Saturn Retrograde
Sunny and cool

Hard to get back into the swing of things yesterday, especially with a sore throat. I think it’s bus fumes, not getting sick, although I feel logy and over tired.

Yesterday was about catching up with what I’d missed, working with students, trying to get back on top of things. Torrential rain, which made it hard to get anything done outside the house. Plenty of rain water gathered for the week’s watering, though! 😉

Pitched a couple of jobs. Was insulted that a couple of jobs to which I pitched, which sounded legitimate, were actually paying content mill rates of $5 and $10 per article. Considering another place offered me $150 for the same word count — guess where I’ll be working? An article was turned down and immediately picked up by a better publication.

I did some work on Confidential Job #1’s material, and made some notes for an upcoming project.

Finally managed to settle down and fixed about 20 pages on the BLOOD AND BONE script, then adapted it into 15 pages of prose. Working on the script and the novel in tandem is an interesting exercise, especially when it comes to point of view, and in whose POV any particular scene or chapter needs to be in. Once the novel draft is done, I’ll have to let it sit for a bit, and then flesh it out with some more sensory detail, although I’m doing a bit of that now.

Have to get out the June newsletter. Should have prepped it before New York, but I ran out of time.

Reading Eleanor Coppola’s NOTES ON A LIFE. Gives me ideas on enriching some of the atmosphere POWER OF WORDS (which will shortly be renamed).

We have a seal release this afternoon over at NMLC, so I have t make sure everything is handled and I can go out there and photograph it.

Better get to work. Wish I felt better.

Devon

Published in: on June 4, 2013 at 7:40 am  Comments (1)  
Tags: , , , , ,

One Comment

  1. Hoping you feel better soon.


Comments are closed.

