Fri. May 17, 2013: Next Step With Revision Process

IMG_1094

Friday, May 17, 2013
Waxing Moon
Saturn Retrograde
Sunny and warmer

I didn’t mow yesterday, so I’m paying for it today! The front yard looks raggedy, so I’ll have to get my act together and do it. It’s cooler today, so it will be easier on the body to haul the machine around.

Yesterday, I focused on the revisions(once I’d worked with my students). Next five chapters done. I think I dropped a thread somewhere (sort of like dropping a stitch in knitting). When I go back for the final proofread later today, hopefully, I’ll catch it.

Two more chapters prepped last night, so I will finish them today. Then, this draft is done.

What does that mean?

I go over the proposal again, tweaking it, especially when it comes to the outline. I attach the freshly-polished first three chapters to the proposal.

I finish up the back matter — all those special tidbits for reader enjoyment that help set this book apart from others in the genre.

I proofread the whole thing again (even though I’ve been proofing each set of chapters as I revised them), making sure it holds together and fixing typos.

I put together this draft into one document for the full.

I send the proposal and the full to my agent.

I let go (although I’m so tempted to use the momentum to start the next book in the series). It’s at the point where I need feedback from the professional team.

At some point in the next few days, I will type up the Series Bible material I have (I worked in longhand, with the hard copy), print it out, and put everything in binders, so I’m ready for the next step.

I get to work, over the weekend, on the next book in the queue (different genre) and work on the new play, whose proposal and first ten pages have to go out next week.

I catch up on all the admin and other stuff that I let slide while I spent the last ten days deep in revisions. That includes finishing up some work for Confidential Job #1, which I hope to get done today.

Have a great weekend, all, and don’t forget — Preakness tomorrow!

Devon

Published in: on May 17, 2013 at 7:28 am  Comments (1)  
Tags: , , ,

One Comment

  1. You are awesome! I wish I had half your work ethic. You truly inspire me to work harder.


Comments are closed.

