Wed. March 20, 2013: Spring Equinox Lifts Spirits

Wednesday, March 20, 2013
Waxing Moon
Saturn Retrograde
Sunny and cold
Spring Equinox

The angle of the sun is lovely, but it is c-c-cold! I’ll have to do some planting today (inside) in honor of the holiday! I’m looking forward to the ceremony!

Lost far too much of my workday dealing with the asshats at Verizon Wireless. The people in the office are both incompetent and take pleasure in being cruel. That’s why there are regulators, which is where this gets bumped to next. The paperwork will be a pain in the butt, but it will be worth it in the end. Corporations cannot be allowed to walk all over people, and the personnel within those corporations must be held personally and individually accountable when they commit illegal acts and hide behind “company policy”.

On the upside, I wrote nearly a whole chapter on the new book, did some marketing, wrote some pitches, worked with students, polished Saturday’s Query Clinic, and dealt with the press release special. I did some work for Confidential Job #1, got the payment stuff with them sorted out (like I said yesterday, they are one of the reliable clients), worked on the contest I’m judging, and started putting together my script coverage samples. I’ve done script coverage, but mostly for smaller producers. I need to take the samples and convert them into the more standard format, so I’ve got those coverage samples ready when I pitch for that type of job. I enjoy reading and evaluating scripts, and I can do so from a budget perspective as well as a creative one, so I’m going to start seeking out those jobs.

I’m going to help out the Writers Center on Saturday morning, setting up and checking in students for Tomorrow’s Writers Today (I’m not teaching, just helping them set up).

I cancelled rehearsal last night due to weather — I didn’t want anyone out driving in that.

Today, it’s pedal to the metal, focusing mostly on the book, but also on a few articles and other things.

Back to the page!

Devon

Last days to sign up for the Query Clinic — line-by-line support on your queries. Information here.

2 Comments

  1. Happy Spring. 🙂 Love the promise of this time of year. Plus I can’t wait to get out into the garden.

    Today, I’m hoping to cut back the rhodies. They’re out of control!

  2. Happy Spring, until all the snow returned 😦


Comments are closed.

