Tues. Feb. 18: Hard Work & Frustration with Corporate Morons

Tuesday, February 19, 2013
Waxing Moon
Saturn Retrograde
Sunny and cold

Before we get into it all, hop on over for Anne Lange’s outstanding post on “Quality in Writing” over at A Biblio Paradise. Anne took several classes with me, and was a joy as a student. I’m delighted she’s doing so well.

Tough weekend. Got as much done as possible on Friday, despite many obstacles. Between the morons in customer disservice at N-Star and Verizon Wireless, far too much time is being wasted. Individuals who break the law and/or cause harm to customers CANNOT be allowed to hide behind so-called “company policy”, especially when those policies clearly violate state and federal laws. The companies need to be held accountable, but so must the individuals who implement such policies. If you’re too stupid or too cowardly to refuse when someone tells you to do something wrong, you are a danger to society and should be treated as such.

I had to spend way too much time dealing with stupid people, all across the board. How do these people even leave the house or tie their shoes, much less earn a living, when they can’t comprehend the simplest of instructions? I have no patience with them.

Worked Saturday, too, not sure if the power would stay on with the storm coming, and wanted to clear off a few things from my desk, including material for Confidential Job #1 and starting to work on some essays I need to get out this week. They’ve both been percolating for awhile, and since they are based on my own emotional experience (hence the “essay” bit), they take longer to develop.

Had an idea for the Dickensian steampunk that I want to play with, although I’m worried that the cast is getting too big. I think I have to do some work on individual arcs. I hadn’t looked on it as a series, but the way I’m building the characters and arcs, it sure seems that way. Which means I have to settle on a book-specific arc for this one to make it satisfying to stand alone, while still being a part of a series.

Which brings me to my course, “Prolonged Engagement: Developing the Series”, running from March 4-8, which will help you develop your own series. Sign up here.
And please do NOT send administrative questions to my personal email — they go to the Administrator of Fearless Ink Workshops, which is why we have one.

I had a fabulous audition with the actress to whom I’ve offered the role of Joye in MURDER ‘SEALS’ THE DEAL, and I’m working on Teri casting today. I’ve got to get some tweaks into the latest draft, and then send it out later today. We go into rehearsals next Monday.

Sunday, we had another 8 inches of snow here. I wasn’t feeling well, so I spent most of the day on the couch, reading. I needed to replenish. I read a couple of John Dunning novels.

The opening to THE BOOKWOMAN’S LAST FLING is brilliant: “The morning was angry but I was cool.” What an awesome opening line! I’m going to use that as an example in classes. Now THAT is a line that keeps me reading.

Monday, I woke up at 4 AM, thinking it was 6 AM(don’t ask) and was on the road earlier than I expected. There wasn’t much traffic, at least until Providence, and it being a holiday Monday helped. I made great time to CT, picked up my mom, we turned right around to get back, stopping for gas, to eat, and to sell some books at the Book Barn in Niantic. Yup, as I’m going through some of these 250 boxes of books in the basement, I’m culling some to sell. I’m keeping most of the non-fiction and reference books, but the fiction — especially if it’s something I don’t really like or find memorable — is going out, so that someone who’s really enthusiastic about it can enjoy it.

Back to work today — I am not looking forward to what the day holds, but when it’s done, I will feel better.

Devon

Published in: on February 19, 2013 at 8:33 am  Comments Off on Tues. Feb. 18: Hard Work & Frustration with Corporate Morons  
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,
