Wed. Oct. 10, 2012: Happy NMLC News!

Wednesday, October 10, 2012
Waning Moon
Neptune Retrograde
Uranus Retrograde
Rainy and cool

First, the good news — I’m a guest on Penny Estelle’s blog as part of Christmas in October, with HEX BREAKER. You can also win a PDF of a story that will be one of the Copper Wishes Creek Tales released next year.

Lost most of my morning workday due to problems with the webhost, 1and1.com. Suddenly, it won’t let me put ANY buttons on my site. It used to be just Twitter and Facebook buttons, but I could drive to a computer with IE on it and put in the “Buy Now” buttons on my site. No more. They basically want to double what they’re charging me and say “that’s how it’s always been”. Then why have I had those buttons on my site previously? Plus, of course, the usual problems with changing font size not taking, and wonky links. Why would I pay double what I’m paying now, when they don’t even give me the service for which I pay now? I lost at least three hours of work time, for which I will invoice them.

So, anyone who takes the upcoming Fast & Fun workshops just has to make direct PayPal payment, without the buttons, which looks unprofessional. I will be billing them for lost income.

And then their dumbass “customer service” people argue with me.

As soon as I can free the files they continue to hold hostage, I’m outta there.

We got our first seal at the National Marine Life Center. You can see pictures of Townsend here. Isn’t that the cutest little face ever? We are so excited! He’s a lively little guy, a harbor seal. His arrival was exciting!

Then, the chairperson of the Mermaid Ball and I visited a couple of locations for next year’s Mermaid Ball. Both locations were good; each had positives and negatives that need to be weighed in terms of the choice. We’re going to look at two more today.

Checked on Townsend before we headed home (little cutie, getting settled in his tank).

Worked with the students in the Supporting Characters workshop — some excellent work. They’re taking it seriously.

Couldn’t get into Savvy Authors at all to work with my tarot students — I tried in three different browsers, but MacGeorge says, no honey, it’s got malware, we’re not going there. This has been an ongoing issue for the better part of a year. I feel for them, but it’s also putting all of us behind a lot.

Didn’t get a chance to do any schoolwork yesterday, so I’ll have to make up for it today, working on my final project for Sustainability, and watching lectures for this week in all three classes.

I know it’s coming up quickly, but the “Dissecting Guidelines” workshop is this Saturday, October 13, and the “The First Three Pages: Dynamic Openings” is on October 20. This is the only time they will be offered this year, and they’re very reasonably priced. More information here.

Got to get a lot of work done this morning, before I head out again to look at venues!

Devon

One Comment

  1. That is one cute face! How exciting that is. I love marine life, and seals are my absolute favorite.


Comments are closed.

