Fri. Sept. 14, 2012: Writing, Washing, and 7 Things

Friday, September 14, 2012
Dark Moon
Neptune Retrograde
Pluto Retrograde
Uranus Retrograde
Sunny and cool

I got out a slew of interview requests out for my next article, and I’m also getting responses from authors I’m interviewing for BIBLIO PARADISE over the next few weeks. I pitched for a job that sounds like a lot of fun, although they want someone onsite and I need to telecommute. So, we’ll see. Heard from a dear friend in the UK — hoping she can visit this fall.

Yoga was great yesterday. Helped enormously, on many levels. I wish I could work my schedule (and my finances) so I could take class three times a week, instead of one. Even daily practice as home isn’t as helpful as being in class.

I’m starting the fall cleaning. I’m doing the heavy velour drapes in the living room. They can’t go into the washing machine, because it’s a top load, and the agitator would chew them to pieces. So I wash and rinse them in the bathtub and then set them out on the deck to dry in the sun, with a quick fluff in the dryer. They’re so big and bulky, I can only do one per day. I did one yesterday, doing one today, will do one tomorrow. Washed the yoga mat yesterday, too, and had it dry in the sun. Always smells so nice when I do that!

Also, this morning, I’ve got blankets and chair covers to wash — again, from the living room. I’m working room by room. Switching out the summer covers, washing them, pulling out the cozy fleece covers.

Mermaid Ball wrap-up meeting was good last night, and then we went out to dinner at Lindsay’s, which was a lot of fun.

I’ve got errands to run later, including the most important — getting in cat food. We’re very low in that respect.

Most of the weekend will be focused on writing. I have a lot to get done, and the only way to do it is to keep the butt in the chair and DO it. And finish up the week’s work for the Sustainability Course — the Tragedy of the Commons theory is quite discouraging. Personally, I think Mars was once similar to Earth (with adjustments for being closer to the sun and all), and they overused the resources and that’s why it’s in the state it’s in. We’re probably going down the same path. I love watching what little Curiosity Rover is up to, dashing around up there and taking photographs.

My pal Debra over on Pendrifter gave me the “Seven Things About Me” Award. Thank you!

So here they are:

1. I can’t swim (and I live on Cape Cod)!

2. I will probably never find my Mowing Zen.

3. I do yoga every day.

4. I work with tarot cards.

5. I used to work on Broadway and on set in wardrobe (I’m a recovering wardrobian).

6. I feel like the luckiest person in the world to be part of the National Marine Life Center.

7. Moving to Cape Cod was one of the best choices of my life.

Rules:
Thank and link back to the person who nominated you.
List 7 Things about yourself. Can be anything you want.
Nominate 7 other people.
Enjoy!

I nominate:
Lori Widmer, Words on the Page
Diane Parkin, Tales from Baggins Bottom
Lara, Ramblings of a Suburban Soccer Mom
Chad, Soundtrack of a Life
Nina Benneton, Romance With a Dose of Humor
KT Wagner, Northern Lights Gothic
Suzanne Purvis, Passions and Pursuits

Enjoy!

Back to the page and the washing machines for me!

Devon

4 Comments

  1. […] more here: Fri. Sept. 14, 2012: Writing, Washing, and 7 Things « Ink In My Coffee This entry was posted in Chair Covers, Chair Covers to Buy and tagged butt, chair, chair-covers, […]

  2. Oh crap! LOL I was afraid you’d call on me. 🙂

    Okay, here goes:

    1. I have a big-assed birthmark on my liver – bigger than my liver.
    2. I don’t like the word “bulghur.”
    3. I have been teaching myself Italian for nine years. Badly.
    4. I meditate and work hard to surrender to the Supreme every day.
    5. I love puzzles. Crossword, jigsaw, you name it.
    6. I loathe people who drop names or who act superior. They’re usually not important at all.
    7. If I had one free day to myself, I’d spend it on a beach.

  3. Thanks for nominating me Devon. I love these random tidbits I learn about my cyberfriends. I’ll post it on my blog and link back to yours. How fun.

  4. […] September, my friend, and writing-workshop instructor extraordinaire, Devon Ellington tagged me in her blog. The tag was a challenge to post “7 Thing About Me” here and nominate seven people to […]


Comments are closed.

