Tues. Sept. 11, 2012: Balancing Life With 9/11

Tuesday, September 11, 2012
Waning Moon
Neptune Retrograde
Pluto Retrograde
Uranus Retrograde
Sunny and cool
11th Anniversary of 9/11

My essay on “9/11 in Fiction” is here. I hope you will stop by to read it and drop a comment.

Today is always a difficult day, no matter where we are. Later on, I will perform the ceremony I created and add to over the years to commemorate the day.

I worked a lot yesterday, but didn’t get enough done. The anthology is off my desk and onto the publisher’s desk, which is a relief. I feel good about the book, and all our contributions to it, but getting all the bits to work smoothly when sending material between different operating systems was challenging.

Speaking of which, I have to update my operating system at the end of this week. The very thought of it gives me agita. But it needs to be done. In fact, first I have to upgrade to Snow Leopard, and only THEN can I put in the newest one, Mountain Lion. I can’t skip a cat.

I have to return a stack of research books today, so I pulled whatever information I still needed. I also have to pick up some books that are on hold for me.

The contest entries I agreed to judge arrived. I will get started on them today.

I was asked to teach a 12-week intensive at a rate that breaks down to $8 per WEEK. Are you kidding me? I was polite when I declined, but I was incredibly insulted by that rate.

Worked on my Sustainability assignments for the week. Worked with my tarot students. Had some preliminary discussions about other fall, winter, and spring classes that need to get on the roster. I’m teaching less, but at rates that reflect more the work put in. And each class is only offered once in year. I want people in class who want to be there, who make it a priority, not who figure, “oh, I can take it or something like it in three months instead”.

Didn’t get enough work done on the revisions, the novel, or the novella, and am not happy about that. However, I spent a couple of much-needed hours in the yard, and it shows. I have to start putting things to bed, and I think one of my rhodies has given up the ghost.

It was so cold this morning that the heat kicked in!

Lots to do today, and only a finite amount of hours (just like everybody else), so I better get going!

Devon

2 Comments

  1. I always think of you on this day – you’ve been in my thoughts today.

  2. Best wishes for a very hard day. Careful with Mountain Lion. Make sure the specs suit your computer. (Chris’ computer is too old for it, but mine was not.)


Comments are closed.

