Mon. Aug. 27, 2012: Mermaid Ball a Success!

Monday, August 27, 2012
Waxing Moon
Pluto Retrograde
Neptune Retrograde
Uranus Retrograde
Sunny and cool

Busy weekend! Worked like crazy on Friday, trying to get things cleared off the desk.

Saturday morning, over to the country club first thing, and we set up for the Mermaid Ball. Back home in the afternoon for a quick break to get ready — Tessa followed me around. She was fascinated by the hair preparation, the make-up, all of it. She wanted to be involved in everything. It was really cute.

The Mermaid Ball itself was a lot of fun. Busy, hectic, but fun. People looked beautiful, they bid on auction items, all in all, a good time.

Then, of course, we had to take the room apart! And load up. I had a car full of decorations. I had to unload when I got home, and then my feet hurt, so by 1 AM, I was sitting in the living room, my feet soaking, and a glass of Talisker by my side!

Up at 4:30 on Sunday morning, on the road just before 6. Drove to CT, picked up my mom, turned around and drove back to the Cape. We stopped in Niantic for lunch. I was exhausted by the time we got back. I was in bed by 7:30 last night.

Up early this morning. Out on the deck to tend the plants and for the first writing session of the day. I’m about to mow the front. Then, I have a phone interview for an article (getting quotes), a rewrite of a piece due today, and I have to head up to Sturgis Library and take the borrowed dress to the cleaners.

OLD-FASHIONED DETECTIVE WORK is going into edits, and I’ve got my beloved Shawna Williams back to guide me through it. I’ve got to get back to CRAVE THE HUNT, and back to another project that dropped into my lap and has to be turned around this week. The ghostwriting project went off Saturday morning, so I’m waiting to hear back on that; I’d like to be able to finish it and invoice it by next week. I’m still waiting for some of the galleys on DEATH SPARKLES. I’m wrapping things up with the year-long people. Most of them plan to form their own writing group and keep working together, which is great. They need to fly free without Teacher looking over their shoulder all the time. They’re ready.

My Introduction to Sustainability class begins today — with 26,000 signed up. Sigh. Here I was hoping for actual interaction with the teacher. Oh, well, we’ll see how it goes. Assignments are due every Sunday, for those of us who want certification, so I want to get started earlier, rather than later. I don’t want to scramble at the last minutes, especially since it’s a field new to me.

Finishing up the prep for the Tarot Workshop. We’ve got a few slots left, so if you’re interested in a basic class on reading and then developing readings for characters in your work and using tarot to break through blocks, you can apply here. Well, I was going to give you the link, but it’s not coming up on the site. Do NOT get me started.

Got to go mow so it’s done before my phone interview. Busy, hectic week. So much for taking August off! Also have to have a planning meeting for some of my other classes, so we can schedule them.

Off to the races!

Devon

3 Comments

  1. Sounds like it was a rousing success! Congratulations on yet another year of mermaid success. 🙂

  2. Feel like I missed out on something fun. Glad it all went well!

  3. Sounds as though the Ball was fantastic! I hope you have time to rest this week!


Comments are closed.

