Thurs. Aug. 23, 2012: Good Busy

Thursday, August 23, 2012
Waxing Moon
Saturn DIRECT
Neptune Retrograde
Pluto Retrograde
Uranus Retrograde
Sunny and pleasant

Got some good work done yesterday. Also did my hair, and painted “mermaid toes” — since I don’t have a tail, I have glittery toes that match my shawl! 😉 And, in between waiting for coats of nail polish to dry, I got a lot of procedural research done that will help in the revisions of the trilogy.

Up early this morning, outside for a bit, almost finished stitching the shawl for Saturday’s ball (good light), then to yoga. Good class. Have banana bread in the oven for tonight’s meeting. Have a lot of freelance work to get cleared off my desk today, and some interview questions out. Confidential Job #1 sent me my next assignment, and I have to do a quick piece for NMLC next week, too. So, it’s busy in the right way!

The year-long novel class wraps up next week. It will be strange not to be with these people every day, as I have been since last September; at the same time, it’s time for all of us to spread our wings into our different directions. There’s a firm foundation for them, and they have the talent — the rest is up to them. My commitment in teaching is helping writers find techniques to support them to do the best work they can in their own voice, to take chances, to understand the business aspects, and, most importantly, to be independent. Independent motivation is one of the most important aspects of surviving and thriving in this business.

Of course, I’d like to take a three month nap at this point, but no such luck!

Back to the page!

Devon

Published in: on August 23, 2012 at 9:29 am  Comments (1)  
Tags: , , , ,

One Comment

  1. I actually found some different ideas from this. It’s great that you spent the time to do this. I repeatedly discover myself personally wasting a significant amount of time either reading and/or commenting. Absolutely worth the time, however.


Comments are closed.

