Mon. Aug. 13, 2012: Awesome Week & Happy Tired

Monday, August 13, 2012
Waning Moon
Saturn Retrograde
Neptune Retrograde
Uranus Retrograde
Pluto Retrograde
Sunny and humid

What a spectacular week! Just what I needed to kick me out of feeling so creatively fallow. Loved the classes — our mystery/thriller group is keeping in touch, which is terrific, since I’m so excited about what everyone’s working on. They also gave me great feedback on the aviation piece, helping me form and shape it from an amoeba to a workable idea. I’m carving time into each work day to keep going on it, so I don’t lose momentum by making it take its place in the queue.

Met a wide array of fantastic, interesting people. Talked a lot (I have no voice left, and I’m out of words). There are several opportunities I need to follow up on.

I met two of the students in my year-long program. They are as talented, funny, and creative in person as they are on the page. Both read, both pitched, and did very well. One landed an agent! I’m a proud tiger mom! 😉

I was out most nights pretty late, up early, and very glad I’d cleared deadlines off my desk before the conference. It was all-consuming. It was also extremely well-organized and the quality of workshops and instructors are among the best I’ve ever experienced anywhere. A great way to light or relight creative fires.

Had to cut out early on Friday in order to drive to CT. The weather was awful — torrential rain, especially in CT. Had to drive slowly, with the hazards on. Finally made it to Niantic, where I bought way too many books, but they were relevant to three current projects, so it’s all good. One, in particular, is a very difficult book to find that I needed for my aviation piece. The other is a book I’ve been searching for for at least a dozen years, and I finally found it.

A trip that should have taken 4 1/2 hours took 7. Collapsed into bed. Up early Saturday, not a bad trip back, collapsed onto the couch, woke up on Sunday. Didn’t do much on Sunday except veg out and doze.

Rather than over-burdening myself today (I’m already ready to go back to bed and it’s barely 9 AM), I’m using today as a follow-up day from the conference, and to catch up on all the emails and freelance-related stuff from last week. I have a block of time set aside for the aviation project, but I’m really going back to the writing whole hog tomorrow, juggling CRAVE THE HUNT, the harpy revisions, and the aviation project, along with a couple of short stories that have to get out the door this week. I’ve got some errands to run today, too.

The week filled up unexpectedly with activities –all good, but I’m also going to try to sign up for a one-day meditation retreat on Sunday. I think I could use the silence! 😉

Now, breakfast, and then, to work . . .my third load of laundry is already in. And the yard needs some serious attention.

Devon

Published in: on August 13, 2012 at 8:08 am  Comments (2)  
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

2 Comments

  1. Sounds like a spectacular conference! I love mixing with peers and getting great feedback. I feel like I’m twisting in the wind lately — I’m backing out of my current group for some very good reasons, and I’ll miss that creative interaction.

    Enjoy the break before work. 🙂

  2. I can sympathize on wanting to go back to bed at 9am. Wishing you a glorious day.


Comments are closed.

