Tues. June 26, 2012: Weary


View from Fort Hill

Tuesday, June 26, 2012
Waxing Moon
Saturn Retrograde
Venus Retrograde
Pluto Retrograde
Neptune Retrograde
Cloudy and cool

Yesterday wasn’t as productive as I would have liked. Everything took longer than I wanted, and I’m trying to get a jump on next week’s deadlines, because, with the holiday falling midweek, there’s no way I can talk with sources for the next articles. All the requests for quotes went out, and I’m finishing up this week’s article. So I’ve got to do it all this week. And the check that was promised two weeks ago for the other project, of course, still isn’t here, so I’m not starting it.

Working on the revisions, working on a couple of short stories, working on some short scripts for a client, and a couple of press releases. Trying to get some press out for the upcoming workshops. Updated the workshop page here on the blog, and, provided I can get into the page on my website, will update that, too. Worked on a short ebook that needs to be ready to go later this week. Feeling a bit discouraged.

Worked with students — happy to see the progress they’re making. Everyone is very tired — hey, we’ve been writing for 41 weeks. But the sooner they learn that it’s not just about writing for two weeks here and there, or a month, the more likely they are to succeed. Some of them are in very good shape to tackle a real career at this.

Had a good morning’s writing session on the deck. Tessa just loves our mornings outside. We took a walk around the garden (I was carrying her), and discovered that the lavender I planted last year is blooming. The Stella D’oro lilies are in full bloom,and the Tiger lilies are starting.

A lot on my plate today, including a meeting tonight. When I get home, I’ll watch an encore of NEWSROOM and remind myself why I’m in this business again.

Devon

Learn how to create focused scenes with impact in the Scene Meat workshop, July 9-13. Learn how to create and maintain a series bible in a one-day seminar on July 14. Take both classes together and save $15!

2 Comments

  1. I feel behind on everything, too. I have an article that MUST finish this week because the next one is due July 13th and I have another they want “soon after” or at the same time, if possible. That’s not possible, but I’m dying to get the money rolling in, so I’m putting in extra time.

    Today is a forum chat call and a conversation with one client who’s about to explain why my check is a month late. This had better be good for his sake…

  2. Tessa sounds like such a sweet girl. I’m sorry to hear your promised payment didn’t arrive. I hope you have all the time you need today. Blessings!


Comments are closed.

