Tuesday, April 19, 2011

Tuesday, April 19, 2011
Waning Moon
Saturn Retrograde
Mercury Retrograde
Pluto Retrograde
Cloudy and cool

In case you’re wondering why I ignored the apostrophe in my mention of Patriots’ Day, it’s because I wasn’t sure where to put it – I’ve seen it done as Patriot’s, meaning one patriot, which doesn’t seem right; Patriots’, meaning everyone in MA who wasn’t a Tory, which makes more sense; and Patriots, meaning there are a lot of individuals running around, but there’s no possession of the day. I checked with the State, and the correct usage is Patriots’ Day — a day belonging to multiple Patriots (and I don’t just mean the football team) in the state.

Of course, then I forgot it was Patriots’ Day and such a big deal, and tried to take a load of recycling to the dump. The dump, of course, was closed, because it’s a state facility and state workers were off being patriotic for Patriots’ Day! 😉

By accident, I came across a review of GAME OF THRONES written by a local reviewer, who happens to be a woman. She had the exact same response to the piece that I had in regard to the sex scenes, which I thought was interesting. I’m curious to see if other reviews split along genre lines on that aspect.

Trotted around to gardening stores. Got inspired to do something different than I originally planned for the front — once it’s warm enough to put anything in there! Instead of just putting in a row of pansies, I think I’ll mix them with English daisy and candytuft. I’d never thought much about candytuft from the photos, but, when I saw it in person,I really, really liked it.

I also got my Blue Prince and Blue Princess small holly trees, pots, and soil. I’m so excited.

I spent the afternoon repotting the rapidly growing plants inside, starting some new seeds, and cleaning up the front yard. There’s still work to be done, but it’s better. I’ll write about it in detail in tomorrow’s Gratitude and Growth.

It felt good to spend the day away from the computer and immerse myself in physical activity, where I could actually see results right away.

I searched and searched to figure out what the lovely, flowering magenta bush is on the side of the house, but no luck. I’d like to know what it is so I can take care of it properly!

Today, I’ll make up for it. Supposedly, it will rain intermittently today, so no yard work for me. I’ll stay inside and write, which is a pretty good way to spend the day, too! 😉 I’m looking forward to having a few days where my own writing is the primary focus, without other commitments pulling me in all directions.

Devon

Published in: on April 19, 2011 at 6:46 am  Comments (7)  
Tags: , , , ,

7 Comments

  1. I love all the pictures you keep putting up. Looks like Spring has yet to arrive though.

    • Yeah, it’s still in the 30s at night.

  2. I was a bit put off by the sex scenes. They seemed pointless and gratuitous. In that one scene, maybe. But the rest? Really, really out of place. I’m no prude, but if it has no bearing on the story, why bother?

  3. Game of Thrones arrived here on Sky Atlantic last night. I started to watch it but was far too easily distracted. I have no idea what it’s about or what happened. It totally failed to engage me.

  4. I hope you’re able to plant soon!

  5. I’m so excited about Assumption of Right!

    I get Thursday through next Monday off and am really hoping I get to work outside some. However, the weather peeps are not with me. It’s supposed to rain and storm.

  6. All the best with your writing! I’ll so give up an arm and a leg to just be able to sit and write…but must go furniture shopping instead!!


Comments are closed.

