Wednesday, October 22, 2008

Wednesday, October 22, 2008
Waning Moon
Neptune Retrograde
Cloudy and cold

So, I bet you all want to know about the Freelancers’ Luncheon, don’t you?

I was the only one who showed up.

Yep. Not one of the other people who RSVP’d in the positive was there. Nor was there a representative from the Freelancers’ Union to talk to us about insurance. Nor did the restaurant have any idea we were meeting there.

Before you ask, yes, I checked all the details before I left, and I checked to see if there was a message canceling it. There was not – just a reminder as to time and place.

I lost 3 hours of my writing day, 2 of it driving, for a non-existent event.

It won’t happen again.

And, when I got home to see if I’d somehow missed the cancellation message – the head office had sent me a message asking me how it went.

I had a few choice words. They all had more than four letters, don’t worry.

And I withdrew from the group, letting the regional head know in no uncertain terms why. I’m sorry, for the rest of the group (albeit a small one) to suddenly have emergencies so close to the lunch that they can’t send out word they’ve cancelled? I don’t buy it. To me it speaks of the following: disorganization, disrespect, lack of time management skills.

As a freelancer, first impressions are important. My first impressions of these people is so low, I wouldn’t do business with them, and, should one wish to become a client I’d charge 100% up front, because I don’t trust them to ever pay otherwise!

You better believe I stayed and had a delicious lunch. I wasn’t about to turn around and drive back another hour on an empty stomach! The food was great, the restaurant very gracious. No, the rest of the group wasn’t elsewhere in the restaurant – I was the very first customer to arrive in the entire building, and the manager asked every person who entered if they were there for the luncheon. The only other group booked was a group of seventy-year-old women who played tennis all their lives. They’d met as young marrieds in their thirties, playing together regularly for years, and now, scattered throughout the counties as they are, they meet every few months for lunch. I also met an aristocratic woman who’d been released from jury duty in White Plains early and drove up to Yorktown Heights to treat herself to lunch!

The foliage along the river drive is beautiful, so I enjoyed that. I got a good lunch and a bit of a break, so it wasn’t a total loss, but I won’t be dealing with these people again. I don’t care what the excuses are. The bottom line is that they’re unreliable, discourteous, and not worth my time.

You KNOW how I am about wasted time! Especially when I’ve spent it in heels!

I figured out some more plot stuff for the Cozy Which Must Be Renamed. And yes, I got out my late assignment before I left for lunch, with apologies to my editor, who was very understanding.

Iris and Violet, my two Russian Blues, are more demanding than usual, now that a Russian Blue was named Best in Show at Madison Square Garden last weekend. They watch the news – they keep up!

Shout out to PJ Hoover! Her book THE EMERALD TABLET released yesterday. I look forward to reading it!

I’m participating in the event over on Wild on Books next week – stay tuned.

And, hopefully, in a few more days, I’ll have another fun announcement!

Took the rest of yesterday off, once I returned from the non-lunch. Figured some stuff out, did a little research, did a little reading – all good. I’m glad I’m not the only one who hit the wall this week. Part of it is definitely exhaustion from the conference.

Had a great morning’s work on The Big Project and baked apple muffins for breakfast.

Now, it’s on to a hopefully productive writing day.

Devon

The Big Project – 19,069 words out of est. 75,000

Zokutou word meterZokutou word meter
19 / 75
(25.4%)

Devon’s Bookstore:

NEW!Sensory Perceptions: Techniques to Improve Your Writing Through the Six Senses by Devon Ellington. Use the six senses to take your writing to the next level via a series of sense-specific exercises. By the end of seven weeks, you complete seven short stories!. $1.29 USD. Here.


Hex Breaker
by Devon Ellington. A Jain Lazarus Adventure. Hex Breaker Jain Lazarus joins the crew of a cursed film, hoping to put to rest what was stirred up before more people die and the film is lost. Tough, practical Detective Wyatt East becomes her unlikely ally and lover on an adventure fighting zombies, ceremonial magicians, the town wife-beater, the messenger of the gods, and their own pasts.
$4.00 ebook/ $6.00 on CD from Firedrakes Weyr Publishing.
Visit the site for the Jain Lazarus adventures.


5 in 10: Create 5 Short Stories in Ten Weeks
by Devon Ellington. This ebooklet takes you from inspiration to writing to revision to marketing. By the end of ten weeks, you will have either 5 short stories or a good chunk of a novella complete. And it’s only 50 cents, USD. Here.

Writing Rituals: Ideas to Support Creativity by Cerridwen Iris Shea. This ebooklet contains several rituals to help you start writing, get you through writer’s block, and help send your work on its way. It’s only 39 cents USD. (Note: Cerridwen Iris Shea is one of the six names under which I publish). Here.


Full Circle: An Ars Concordia Anthology
. Edited by Colin Galbraith. This is a collection of short stories, poems, and other pieces by a writers’ group of which I am a member. My story is “Pauvre Bob”, set at Arlington Race Track in Illinois. You can download it free here:

Published in: on October 22, 2008 at 7:57 am  Comments (11)  
Tags: , , , , ,

11 Comments

  1. Thanks, Devon!
    And nothing is more annoying to me than someone else wasting my time. It’s a total sign of disrespect.
    Hope all is well!

  2. Wow. Wow. Weird and horrible. Heels? Even worse. So sorry, Devon. I’m glad you spoke up!

  3. I was the only one who showed up

    You have GOT to be kidding! Rude, much, people?

    At least you got a lunch out of it. Glad you took the afternoon off and strategized. I think you needed that.

    Apple Muffins? Yum.

  4. That’s shocking! I’m not surprised you complained. I’d be equally as angry at the waste of time spent on something that had a lot of potential to be good for everyone’s business.

  5. That is so rude and disrespetful. But at least you got a nice meal out of it, eh? 🙂 At any rate, I would have complained, too. That’s certainly the right thing to do.

  6. I can’t believe you are the only one who showed up! How rude! And in heels no less. Jeez!
    Glad to hear your lunch wasn’t a total loss. Glad to hear you had a pleasant day overall.

  7. Wow, what a trip. Really.

    Sounds like the tennis pros would be a fun bunch to hang out with. I like that you stayed for lunch. Good on you!

    And, er, bad on them.

  8. Geez, what a buncha maroons! d:)

  9. oh wow. that bites. glad you stayed and ate and made the most of it.

  10. Knowing you, the heels were fabulous. :))

    Buffoons. Complete buffoons. When one hand doesn’t know what the other is doing, there are bigger issues at stake. A true sign that this is not a group to be wasting time or money on.

  11. Ha, ha, ha, that is so “you”, staying and having the lunch anyway. I think I would have done the same. It sucks that no-one showed. I hope they had very good reason and that you find out what it was eventually.


Comments are closed.

