Mon. April 14, 2014: Cover Reveal, Play Information, and Tight Organizational Skills

med_TrackingMedusa

Monday, April 14, 2014
Waxing Moon
Mars Retrograde
Saturn Retrograde
Sunny and pleasant

Above is the cover for TRACKING MEDUSA, set to release soon. Isn’t it gorgeous? I’m thrilled with it.

Busy, busy weekend.

Friday, I was back at the new job at the library, learning new stuff. Learned how to check in books, do the holds, pull from the shelves for requests, etc., etc. Went over some of the ordering protocols. Got my professional email set up, and dived into the administrative part. Learning how to make spines and add bar codes and make records as new books, CDs, and videos come in and go on the shelf. Getting an idea of the current programs, since new programs for adults will be my jurisdiction moving forward. Lots to learn, but I’m eager to learn it all. My co-workers are lovely, and eager to help me settle in.

It was pleasant enough to eat lunch outside — something I hope to do on most nice days there.

Came home, checked email and discovered that I landed an educational scriptwriting job I really, really wanted. Fifteen episodes by the end of June. I’m looking forward to it — I had a blast with the paid test episode, so I’m eager to get to work on the project as a whole.

Packed up the car and headed for rehearsal. Loaded in the newly edited slides for the play (we’re using some of the real slides from the presentation in the play). I had one actor out sick and one not feeling well but there, so we worked as much as we could, and spent time on certain bits of business and tech. I had someone to sit on book, so I could actually concentrate on directing, for once.

Started the next book sent for review. The next contest entries are scheduled to arrive today.

Saturday morning, it was nice enough to get some yard work done.

I had a client meeting in the early afternoon about the new scriptwriting job, and they sent me more materials, with even more this morning in preparation for this afternoon’s meeting.

Worked on taxes and the new book for review after that.

Sunday, I had a slow, leisurely start out on the deck to the morning, went over some research materials that need to be returned, did some work marketing the play, and then finished up the taxes. They’re ready to go.

I also finished the first round of edits on “Lake Justice” and got them back to my editor.

I did some work on my materials for the workshop I’m teaching at NECRWA in two weeks, and prepared some notes for my lecture at the Community College earlier that week.

I have letters to write today, and quite a bit of material to go over before this afternoon’s client meeting. I also need to wind up two client projects today and tomorrow and get out some requested samples. Then, I’m not taking on any new freelance projects until early July, although I’ll still be pitching regularly in May, and ramping it up in June.

I posted on Facebook that I will be working a minimum of 18 hours per day, seven days a week, between now and May 8. That is not an exaggeration. I am grateful, and these are opportunities that could not be shifted and would not come again. I’m not going to whine about the time put in or how tired I’ll be. I know I’ll be both exhausted, and I’ll have to be very, very organized. However, anyone who whines AT me about how busy THEY are will be stabbed in the eye with a fork. A monogrammed one. Because let’s face it, those who WHINE about being busy aren’t actually busy — they waste a lot of time. Those of us who ARE keeping busy schedules during the feast cycle are way too busy getting things done to whine! For the next three weeks, I have an even more zero tolerance policy on whining than I usually do.

SEAL TIDES flyer - 2nd version-1

I hope you’ll come and see SEAL TIDES. If you can’t, I hope you’ll consider throwing even $10 to its indiegogo campaign to support the show and the Marine Life Center’s mission to educate the next generation of conservationists. Link here.

Onward!

Devon

One Comment

  1. Great cover! And congrats on the script gig. Sounds like fun!


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,056 other followers

