Thursday, Dec. 26, 2013: After the Holidays . . .

Thursday, December 26, 2013
Waning Moon
Jupiter Retrograde
Cloudy and cold

Hop on over to Writers Vineyard, where in in Annabel Aidan persona, I talk about the blessings of the season.

Terrific couple of days off. I got a good bit of work done on Wednesday, especially on two novellas. Did the last-minute grocery shopping.

Christmas Eve dinner was pork loin with herbs and thyme gravy, mashed potatoes, red cabbage, green beans, and cranberry horseradish sauce. Very good! With traditional stollen for dessert.

Christmas Day, we did the stockings and then had a big breakfast before stuffing the turkey and wrestling it into the oven. Yes, I cook my stuffing IN the turkey and have never had a problem. I know how to cook thing so they don’t make people sick!

Roast turkey, cranberry sauce, stuffing, gravy, mashed potatoes, peas, corn for Christmas dinner, and for dessert, pears in warm chocolate sauce.

Then, we divvied up the food, boiled down the bones, strained them and made a lovely turkey soup!

In other words, I spent the day either cooking or doing dishes, but it was fine.

I did a lot of reading, too. Also watched the farewell tribute to Matt Smith on BBC America and his final DR. WHO episode. I wish they hadn’t hyped it so much — I thought most of the episode itself was a hot mess, trying to be too much in too many directions. Matt Smith was fun in the role, I still adore David Tennant, and I’m looking forward to Philip Capaldi. The beauty of the show is that each actor who plays the doctor has room to be unique.

Back to the grindstone today, although I’d love to have an actual vacation. I’m physically and emotionally exhausted.

I did some work earlier this week with a lovely new client, and I hope we get a chance to do more work together.

Devon

Published in: on December 26, 2013 at 8:05 am  Comments (3)  
Tags: , , , , ,

3 Comments

  1. Happy holidays, toots. Got your card on Tuesday. Sorry to say we weren’t able to find five minutes to get cards printed (we do our own) or get envelopes addressed. But you were certainly in my heart and mind yesterday. :)

  2. Loved your comment about the stuffing inside the turkey. I always did it that way and now son does turkey for Thanksgiving. We had the same discussion. He also cooks the stuffing inside the turkey. Actually, he does one inside and an extra in a dish as he cooks a 30 lb turkey. He like the Norman Rockwell Thanksgiving image. He loves leftovers and thinks he’s Bobby Flay and Mario Batali combined.

  3. Glad to hear you had a nice Christmas. Many good wishes for you and yours.


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,038 other followers

