Mon. Oct. 28, 2013: Writing and Seals

Monday, October 28, 2013
Waning Moon
Mercury Retrograde
Sunny and cold

Busy weekend. One client is still late; obviously I can’t count on that slot, which makes me irritated, because it is a big project.

However, on the upside, I finished the first draft of the “palate cleanser” project. The working title is VISCERAL INVISIBLES. It came in at 112 pages on Friday, and then Saturday, I made some internal cuts/tightenings that brought it down to 108, and added some material to smooth out logic to bring it up to 110. I have to print it out, and then it will sit and marinate for two weeks, before I rip it apart for rewrites. I’m looking at a Feb. 15 deadline for it, and this gives me plenty of time, even with other projects coming in. I’m happy with the overall flow, structure, and development of it, even though I know it still needs work.

I also think I figured out how to fix the project that stalled.

Read a bit over the weekend; received a first assignment from a new gig; it looks interesting.

Got frustrated because I ordered two movies from the library that were supposed to be Blu-Ray/DVD combos, but are only Blu-Ray, and I can’t watch them. As Kevin Hearne would say, “such first world problems!”

Yesterday, after I did some tweaks on the screenplay, I went over to Buzzards Bay for the National Marine Life Center’s Spooky Splash, and then we headed over to Scusset Beach to release Francis the seal. We had a heck of a time catching him and restraining him, and then, once he was at the beach, he took his time leaving his crate! But once he was in the water, he swam around and played; he was definitely ready to go, and hopefully, he’ll do well. Seal releases are always fun.

For some reason, I couldn’t sleep last night, so I’m having trouble getting going this morning. Lots to do this week. Better hop to it.

Devon

One Comment

  1. I have to come visit the seals with you. Sounds like a great time. :)

    My stepson-in-law mentioned his own first-world problem: He said there are just too many choices for us, that we can’t possibly know what we want to be when we grow up with everything available to us. My stepson’s fiancee couldn’t stop laughing — her family is from Nigeria, so they find us ridiculous in what we choose to complain about. I almost agreed with the SIL until she pointed that out. Funny. :)


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,057 other followers

