May 1, 2013: Beltane and Writing

Wednesday, May 1, 2013
Waning Moon
Saturn Retrograde
Sunny and pleasant
Beltane

It’s Beltane! May Day! Time to dance around the maypole!

Yesterday, I had a frustrating writing day. Granted, the work on the short story was good, but I struggled with the novel. And I had to get two chapters written. There is no wiggle room in this particular deadline — I miss it, I lose opportunities.

I went grocery shopping, to the library, worked in the yard, worked with students, finished an edit for a client. Did some work-related reading out on the deck, because it was so nice out. Struggled with the novel.

So, instead of signing off at night, as I usually do after a long day at the computer, I kept going.

It was nearly 11 PM when I finished the two chapters (nearly 5000 words) I needed to get done, but they are done. A couple of scenes came up that are a lot of fun and were unexpected. The love scene I wanted to put in these chapters didn’t work. I cut it, and I found a place in an upcoming chapter where it is more organic and will work in the overall structure of the book better.

I have to do two more chapters on the novel today, and get them done before I head out for the Beltane celebration this evening, so I better get going! The draft needs to be done by Friday, and then it rests for the weekend. I’d like it to rest longer, but don’t have that option this time around, so it must rest, and then, on Monday, I start tearing it apart for revisions.

“May is Manuscript Prep Month” has started, and the first Tip went out this morning. Enjoy!

Devon

Published in: on May 1, 2013 at 10:30 am  Comments Off  
Tags: , , ,
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,056 other followers

