Thurs. Feb. 21, 2013: Every Title I’ve Given This Post Was Way Too Snarky

Thursday, February 21, 2013
Waxing Moon
Saturn Retrograde
Sunny and cold

Worked hard yesterday. CREATIVE STIMULUS is almost ready to release — the Table of Contents is working my last nerve, with all the hyperlinks, etc. The ebook contains updated versions of the booklets for “5 in 10”, “Sensory Perceptions”, “Writing Rituals” and also contains the Tip Sheets I use in a lot of the classes.

I also did a lot of work on “Prolonged Engagement” — I’m excited to teach the class. I’ve gathered some good information in it.

I’m still on the fence about teaching anything in April aside from the “Setting as Character” I’ve got at NECRWA, and I’m not sure about May. In June, I’ve got the other RWA class, “Supporting Characters”, and I’m hoping July and August will be off. I need the break.

Hop on over to The Writers Vineyard, where I talk about “The Chance to Apprentice.” This goes back to online classes, where, unfortunately, too many aspiring writers look at online classes as a “service” rather than an “apprenticeship”. Classes are not services. They’re challenges, and they require commitment and work AND classes are done the way the teacher wants to run them, NOT the student.

Still dealing with casting; have a couple of dilemmas to resolve, which I hope to do today and tomorrow. We go into rehearsal on Monday, and, hey, guess what, we’re expected to get another snowstorm this week. Oy!

The Writers Night Out dinner was last night, and lots of fun, lively conversation (as always) and some readings. I also found out one of my closest friends here is moving to Amsterdam in a few months. It’s such a wonderful opportunity for her! And yet, I’ll miss her a lot. But that’s why there’s emails and letters and blogs.

Yoga was good this morning, I stopped at the beach on the way back and met a person walking two Scottie dogs (so cute), and I’m trying to clear off a few things before the 11 AM audition.

Also have to figure out how I’m going to resolve a delicate issue with a manipulative person who, while probably not actively wishing me harm, does not wish me well, and wants to be central to a particular situation for kudos, but not actually do any of the work. Which I won’t tolerate. I don’t care about the kudo bit, but if you’re going to be here and claim you’re a part of this, you are going to fucking do the work.

Busy day.

Devon

One Comment

  1. I enjoy looking through a post that will make men and women think.
    Also, many thanks for allowing for me to comment!


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,055 other followers

