Thurs. Jan. 24, 2013: The Brain Outstrips the Fingers

Thursday, January 24, 2013
Waxing Moon
Jupiter Retrograde
Sunny and cold

Final two days for the Reduced Rate Editing Special. Details here. Sign up before the 25th — because if you email me on Sunday about it, I’m already back to my regular rates!

And don’t forget to sign up for “The Graveyard of Abandoned Projects” to breathe fresh life into old projects, or set them to rest in a way that does not siphon creative energy from new projects, and/or “Journal into Fiction”, where you learn how to transform journal entries into viable fiction. Information and registration here.

I’m over on The Writers Vineyard today, talking about “Other Art as Inspiration”, where I go into detail about the 3K I wrote on a short story yesterday, inspired by Edward Hopper’s painting, “New York Movie”. I wanted to push through last night and finish it, but I was written out and couldn’t even speak a coherent sentence, much less write one by evening. I hope to get some more work done on it this morning.

I think I’ve figured out how to fix the second act of the play, too. I was ending it at the wrong point. And I figured out how to drop some more clues to make it more fun for the audience.

Worked with students, went over material for the upcoming Topic Workbooks still to release. For a couple of them, I have to get permission for some quotes, or I’ll have to change the material used within — which is fine, either way. I just want to make sure everyone is properly credited, and all the permissions are in order.

I’ve got to focus this morning, because I have a meeting at the possible venue for the play over the bridge at noon, and then a development meeting at NMLC at 2. So I’ll be tied up most of the day. But it’ll be good for me to get out of the house for a bit!

Baked gingerbread for the meeting.

Have a great day, everyone!

Devon

5 Comments

  1. Let me know when you nail down a venue. I’d love to try making it to this one. :)

  2. I do so enjoy hearing about your work and creative process. It’s fascinating to those of us (Me) who aren’t very creative.

    • You ARE creative, Brandy, it’s just in a different arena!

      • You’re very kind to say so, but I feel about as creative as a rock.

  3. I’ll immediately snatch your rss as I can’t find your e-mail subscription hyperlink or e-newsletter service.
    Do you’ve any? Please allow me recognize so that I may just subscribe. Thanks.


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,054 other followers

