Saturday, August 27, 2011

Saturday, August 27, 2011
Dark of the Moon
Pluto Retrograde
Neptune Retrograde
Cloudy, humid, prep for Hurricane Irene

I am HOME, briefly, thank goodness, and got the first good night’s sleep I’ve had in a week and a half. I was practically delirious from exhaustion, and I’m so run down I’m getting sick.

I was far too optimistic, thinking the conversation with the client resolved anything. I was woken up all night Thursday into Friday with texts and calls about things we had already discussed and resolved which weren’t even my job. I don’t want to hear “I don’t understand the time difference” when you have an iPhone and this time zone is your default setting. It is inappropriate to call me after 10 PM or before 7 AM unless it is an emergency. MY definition of emergency. Nothing is going to change in Crazytown, and I have to make sure that Sept. 2 is my last day there ever. I couldn’t turn off the phone because I needed the alarm. The client ignored “it’s inappropriate to call me now.” I made it very clear that, today and tomorrow, I’m working on something else, and my phone will be off. I am NOT to be used as the intermediary between the client and my relief. The client needs to deal directly with the relief. When I got home yesterday morning, I shut off my phone for a few hours. When I turned it back on, there were 4 phone calls and 17 text messages in 3 hours, until the client realized I was serious. The lack of boundaries, the lack of respect, the lack of honesty about what the job actually entails — unacceptable.

I was so happy to be home, and the cats were happy to see me. Even Violet was velcro kitty and purring all day. I had a LOT to do — since I wasn’t “allowed” to leave the site the previous four days and had to catch up. Library, take my mom for a blood test, Stop N Shop, Wine store, PetSmart, Verizon, Trader Joe’s, CVS. Everything got done, though, and before 2 PM. My relief told me that people were being vile in the grocery store, but everywhere I went, people were laughing and joking and helping each other get things off shelves, etc., etc.

Broadway has cancelled all shows for today and tomorrow. I can’t remember that ever happening, but, for once, the producers aren’t putting people in danger. The fact that all Mass Transit shuts down at noon today probably has something to do with it. I think NY will get worst of it, mostly due to the expected angle of the storm. I talked to Costume Imp — he’s hunkered down with his cats in his prewar apartment uptown. He should be fine. People on higher ground are taking in their theatre colleagues (and pets) from lower ground. Everyone on Twitter’s joking about stocking up enough wine and beer to ride it out. As usual, theatre folk are looking after their own.

As of right now, the Mermaid Ball is still on for tonight. I have mixed feeling about that. I think a lot of people won’t show. In about two hours, I’m headed over to help set up. I’ve got my dress and stuff packed up and along –we’ll see how the day goes. I don’t really want to be travelling anywhere at midnight tonight in the middle of the storm. They’re expecting to stop the ferries to and from the islands later tonight. People are being smart in preparations, but cheerful and no one’s panicking. So we’ll see what happens.

Devon

Published in: on August 27, 2011 at 7:07 am  Comments (5)  
Tags: , , , ,

5 Comments

  1. Good grief your client is a huge…. Insert word that’s not fit for public.
    I hope the Metmaid Ball goes well and that you and yours stay safe!

  2. I’m worried about you! Hope you’re okay and not in the middle of the storm

  3. Check your email! I’m stressing out for you! I hope all is well!

    XOXO Lara

  4. I hope you get/already have your wages for this job.

    • Oh, that used my blogspot instead of my wordpress account … :-(


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,038 other followers

