Saturday, May 2, 2009

Saturday, May 2, 2009
Waxing Moon
Saturn Retrograde
Pluto Retrograde
Rainy and cool
Kentucky Derby Day

My picks for the full race card are in the post below this one, so scroll down if you’re interested.

With the poor weather, it gives my top pick, Friesan Fire, a better shot at the win. Friesan Fire and Pioneer of the Nile are still my top picks. And Dunkirk’s moved up from a “maybe” to a “definite.” He’s gorgeous, tons of personality, and, if his mental focus is there tonight, I think he can do it. I’m betting all three across the board and boxing a trifecta. One of my longshots will be Chocolate Candy, for a show spot, and I’ll probably toss in another, perhaps Flying Private or Hold Me Back.

My publisher already paid me for “The Retriever”. Pretty psyched. Will post the link to the story as soon as I’ve got it. I’m thrilled they took the piece, and I hope to work more with them in the coming months.

An interview with me is going up on Tuesday over at Long and Short Reviews. I’ll schedule the link, since I’ll be out of town — I hope you stop by.

Got to visit the chat room where I’m giving the workshop next week. We’ve got a test run today. I can only stop in for a minute, due to the Derby, but it’ll be worth it.

Yesterday, I spent a lot of time handicapping today’s race card and running errands. Took some time off in the afternoon to read a cosy, getting me back in the headspace to go back to work on the Helena Francis mystery. The book was okay. There were some lapses of logic that bothered me. But the characters are fun and the writing’s fine. I just didn’t find it all that memorable.

Got to dash out for an errand and then get back and get ready for Derby coverage. This will be the first year I can use my own laptop to write my wrap up article as the races are happening instead of scribbling notes and then trying to decipher them later. I probably can’t Tweet as it’s happening, but, oh well. Besides, I need to be WATCHING the races.

The Red Wings vs. Anaheim hockey game was really good last night. Red Wings won, 3-2, as I hoped they would. They are one of the best-run teams in the league.

Off to a busy day.

Devon

Published in: on May 2, 2009 at 8:24 am  Comments (4)  
Tags: , , , , , ,

4 Comments

  1. Heard just a bit ago that I Want Revenge (love that name!) has been scratched due to an ankle injury. I’m rooting for Friesan Fire and sentimentally General Quarters (because I like that he’s owned & trained by somebody who’s not one of the big bucks people in the business).

  2. I liked your run-down of the horses. Especially since I am not a horse race watcher. I hope you have a good day!

  3. I liked your run-down of the horses. Especially since I am not a horse race watcher. I hope you have a good day!
    Oops, should have said good post! Waiting on your next one!

    • What did you think of the winner? You said you liked long shots! *G* And by the way, that post at 4:29pm? WAS NOT ME. I wasn’t even home.


Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,021 other followers

